Explained: The Royal Family’s line of succession after the Queen’s death


he death of her late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II on Thursday has created a new line of succession.

King Charles III immediately became king, as under the British constitution, a sovereign succeeds to the throne the moment his or her predecessor passes away.

Here is the new hierarchy of those in line to the throne.

1 – The Prince of Wales

Prince William, who has now taken over the title of Prince of Wales from his father, is now heir to the throne as the eldest son of King Charles.

2 – Prince George of Wales

Prince George, born on July 22 2013, is only nine years old, but as second in line to the throne, he is set to one day become king.

3 – Princess Charlotte of Wales

Princess Charlotte, aged seven, is third in line to the throne as the second child as the Prince and Princess of Wales.

However, should Prince George have children of his own, they will overtake his sister in the line of succession.

Previous rules which would have meant any younger male siblings would have displaced her in the line of succession were changed in 2013.

4 – Prince Louis of Wales

Prince Louis, the youngest child of the Prince and Princess of Wales, aged four, is fourth in line to the throne.

5 – The Duke of Sussex

Prince Harry, the Duke of Sussex, is Prince William’s younger brother and is fifth in line to the throne.

The duke was once third in line to the throne but was displaced further down the line by the births of Prince William’s children.

6 – Master Archie Mountbatten-Windsor

Archie, aged three, is the oldest child of Harry and Meghan, making him sixth in line to the throne.

7 – Miss Lilibet Mountbatten-Windsor

Lilibet, named after the late Queen Elizabeth, is the second child of Harry and Meghan, born in June last year. She is seventh in line to the throne.

Her full name, Lilibet Diana Mountbatten-Windsor, also pays tribute to Harry’s late mother, Princess Diana.

Related Articles

Back to top button