Technology

What is Twitter Circle and how do you use it?

The rollout took place across both Android and iOS apps, as well as the web browser version of Twitter.

Twitter announced the new feature in a tweet, saying: “giving you all Twitter Circle because sometimes your Tweets aren’t for everyone”.

Here’s what you need to know about the new feature and how to put it to good use.

What is Twitter Circle?

Twitter Circle is a way of ensuring only certain people can see your tweets.

Users can add up to 150 people to a Circle and then share tweets that are only visible to those select few.

This is the most recent in a number of measures Twitter has taken to allow users to have more control over their Twitter feed and who can interact with them.

For example, Twitter launched a feature where users can limit who can reply to their tweets in August 2020, with the option to allow no replies, only people you’ve mentioned, only people you follow, or everyone.

These more precise tools are in response to criticism of the platform for not having good enough content moderation systems in place, leading to harassment or bullying of Twitter users with a wide reach.

How to use Twitter Circle

To use Twitter Circle, the first step is to create one. By opening up the sidebar of sections while logged into Twitter, click on the ‘Twitter Circle’ tab.

From there, you can select the people you want to include, with Twitter already providing you with recommendations based on who you interact with.

Once created, you will then be able to choose to only share certain tweets with your Twitter Circle when posting a tweet as normal.

Anyone you add to your Twitter Circle will also be able to see any Circle tweets that came before.

Related Articles

Back to top button