Morocco vs Spain lineups: No Morata as starting XIs confirmed

Aymeric Laporte and Jordi Alba return after sitting out the defeat to Japan but Marcos Llorente is favoured ahead of Dani Carvajal and Cesar Azpilicueta at right-back.

Chelsea’s Azpilicueta did not train on Friday due to a knock to his leg, along with Dani Olmo and reserve goalkeeper David Raya. Olmo is fit to start.


Up front, the key question was whether Alvaro Morata or Marco Asensio will get the nod to spearhead the attack, and it’s the latter alongside Ferran Torres.

As for Morocco, goalkeeper Yassine Bounou and Achraf Hakimi overcame injury issues to start in the win over Canada and keep their place.

Walid Regragui has enjoyed a strong degree of consistency with his line-up during the World Cup and he is likely to trust his regular XI from the start against Spain.

Confirmed team news

Morocco XI: Bono; Mazraoui, Aguerd, Saïss, Hakimi; Amrabat, Amallah, Ounahi; Boufal, En-Nesyri, Ziyech

Spain XI: Simon; Llorente, Rodri, Laporte, Alba; Gavi, Busquets, Pedri; Torres, Asensio, Olmo

Related Articles

Back to top button