WhatsApp is one of the best known apps for messaging. From video calls to live location, the app has a variety of features to offer users a seamless experience. One of them is also the ability to delete messages, which is a great feature. If you accidentally forward a message to any contact or send a message with a typo, then you can immediately delete it.
However, WhatsApp gives only one hour of window to delete a message, after which this option is not available to users. While this is fine, the issue is the app also notifies when you delete a message. This makes the receiver more curious about what the message might be. Instagram has implemented the same feature in a better way, as the app doesn’t add a dedicated ”message deleted” box in a chat.
If you want to read a deleted WhatsApp message, then there is a way to do that. However, it defeats the purpose of the feature. If you still want to go ahead, then do keep in mind that you will have to download a third-party app for this.
There are several apps on Google Play Store that you can try. We installed ”Get Deleted Messages” app, which is only available for Android users. It lets you read deleted WhatsApp messages as well as the media. When a message is deleted, the app sends a notification to users. So, you can hop into the app and then check it. The only annoying part about this app is advertisements. They are not very intrusive, which is a good thing. But you will still see them in some places. Read on to know more about how you can read any deleted WhatsApp messages through this app.
How to read deleted WhatsApp messages on mobile?
Step 1: Install the ”Get Deleted Messages” app from Google Play Store.
Step 2: You will now be required to give some permissions to the app. Once done, you are all set.
Note: The app will require your permission to run in the background. Of course, you can change that anytime in your phone’s Settings > Apps & Notifications. Apart from this, the app will also ask permission for Notification and Storage.
What about privacy and data collection?
It is important to note that when you give notification access to any app, then it means that the app will be able to read your personal information such as contact names and text messages that you receive. So, keep that in mind before giving Notifications access to any third-party app.
When will this app not work?
If you disable “Notifications” access for this app, then it won’t be able to show you deleted messages. Apps like this immediately pull messages from the notification panel the moment you receive them. So, even if the message gets deleted when you open WhatsApp, you will be able to check it out in the mentioned app. Additionally, if you switch off your smartphone, then this app won’t be able to recover deleted messages. Those who have disabled “Notifications” for WhatsApp app will not be able to utilize this app.
*Note: Do keep in mind that this third-party app cannot read your messages from WhatsApp. It can only pick them up from your phone’s notification panel. So, the app can’t see the messages that you send to any chat.